SIGMA monaco
Grand Prix Sport Culture Events Virtual Tour Photo Gallery About Us
Site map

Place : Principality of Monaco
1st F1 race : 1950
Total Length: 3.340 km
Laps : 78
Curves : 19

Monaco is, without any doubt, the most well-known grand prix racetrack of Formula 1. Although the first race in Monaco was held in 1929, Monaco did not become an official race of the Formula 1 Championship until 1950. Following a period of inactivity from 1951-1954, the Monaco Grand Prix has continuously been part of the Formula 1 Championship since 1955.

Formula 1 drivers consider this race a true experience: you need to win at least once in your career. The appeals for the drivers are numerous - it is a highly technical race located on a unique track inside one of the most glamorous cities in the world. The race is very demanding - the drivers have a limited security margin, with the guardrail at only a few centimeters from the cars. The track is narrow, with many curves, and is considered by the drivers to be one of the most spectacular. The triple winner of the championship, Nelson Piquet, has compared driving the racetrack of the Monaco Grand Prix to biking in circle in your living room.

Since the racetrack has been created, numerous changes have occurred.  For example, in 2003, the track located near the 2nd "S" of the swimming pool and the Rascasse curve was entirely modified and redesigned. A major change occurred in 2004 with the extension of the pits.

The urban location of the Monaco Grand Prix racetrack also presents challenges in regards to setup and breakdown. Track setup requires 6 weeks before the race date, while breakdown takes another 3 weeks after the conclusion of the race.

In addition, the Monaco Grand Prix is the only race of the championship to not have a podium. The award ceremony occurs on the steps of the Princely grandstand, near the start/finish line of the track.

List of winners of the Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix

70th Monaco Grand Prix
Sunday 27th May 2012 - 78 Laps                                                        Time                Average in km/h
Winner               Mark Webber (Red Bull)                                            1h46'06''557            147.32
Lap Record            Sergio Perez (Sauber)                                            1'17''296                      -

69th Monaco Grand Prix
Sunday 29th May 2011 - 78 Laps                                                        Time                Average in km/h
Winner               Sebastien Vettel (Red Bull)                                        2h09'38''373            120.74
Lap Record         Mark Webber (Red Bull)                                            1'16''234                      -

68th Monaco Grand Prix
Sunday 16th May 2010 - 78 Laps                                                        Time                Average in km/h
Winner              Mark Webber (Red Bull)                                              1h50'13''355            141.815
Lap Record        Sebastien Vettel (Red Bull)                                          1'15''192                      -

The Grand Prix
as if you were there !!

70th Monaco Grand Prix Programme

8 th Historical Grand Prix Programme

©Sigma-Monaco 2014     Terms of use and Confidentiality Policy